Visibility controls are the settings that determine whether a block is hidden on the frontend of your website. Block Visibility also allows you to configure which controls you would like to use. The current controls are:
The Hide Block control is the most straightforward and allows you to easily hide any block. When enabled, this control overrides all other visibility settings.
Date & Time Scheduling
The Date & Time scheduling features allow you decide when a block should be visible based on a start and/or end date. Simply select the “Start Showing” date and time and the block will be hidden until that date. Similarly, if you set a “Stop Showing” date and time, the block will be hidden at that time.
Note that the timezone reflects the WordPress date and time settings for your site. To change this, edit them in the General admin screen, see below. You can also edit the date and time formats to better suite your needs and this will be reflected in the Block Visibility user interface.
Visibility by User Role
Visibility by User Role allows you to control who can see the block. There are three options:
When a block is set to Public, only website visitors that are not logged into your website will see the block. In other words, a general website visitor would be able to see a block set to Public.
When a block is set to Private, only website visitors that are logged into your website will see the block. This setting does not care about the user’s specific user role (Administrator, Subscriber, Customer…), they just need to be logged in.
The User Role setting allows you to fine-tune the visibility of the block. When enabled, you will be able to select the individual user roles that should be able to see the block. For example, in the screenshot above, the block is visible to logged-out users and any logged-in Administrators on the website.
The list of available roles includes the standard user roles that come with WordPress, as well as any additional roles provided by third-party plugins or themes.
Configure Visibility Controls
We strive to provide as much visibility control as possible, and as development for Block Visibility continues, expect even more functionality in the future. However, we understand that some users do not need every option. It is equally important to have a decluttered and streamlined user interface. Therefore, on the Visibility Controls tab of the Block Visibility settings page, you can enable or disable any control.
Referring to the screenshot above, simply toggle the controls you would like to use on your website. When a visibility control is disabled, blocks that relied on the disabled control will become visible again. Likely this is what you intended, but we wanted to provide this warning just in case.
For example, assume you have an Image block that is currently hidden by the Hide Block control. If you disable the Hide Block control in the Visibility Control settings, the Image block will become visible on the frontend of your website. Furthermore, if you re-enable the Hide Block control, the Image block will be hidden again assuming no other changes were made to that block.