Home » Articles » Plugin Settings » General Settings

General Settings

The General Settings tab is accessible via the Block Visibility settings page in the WordPress admin and allows you to configure some general functionality for the plugin. As development continues on Block Visibility, expect an expanded list of options.

The General Settings tab of the Block Visibility settings page (v1.4.0)

Block Editor

The Block Editor section contains a variety of settings the impact how the plugin interacts with the WordPress editor. As development of Block Visibility continues, more features will be added the increase the usability of the plugin and make it easier for users to configure the visibility settings of each block. That said, if there is a certain feature you do not like, you can simply turn it off in the Block Editor settings.

User Permissions

As of version 1.3.0, Block Visibility has user permissions that allow website administrators to decide who can use visibility controls.

By default, any user that is able to edit blocks in the Block Editor will be allowed to also control block visibility. To restrict this functionality, simply enable restrictions and choose the user roles that you would like to have access. Note that administrators will always have access.

Contextual indicators will display for users that have been restricted, so long as contextual indicators are enabled. This allows restricted users to still see which blocks are controlled by visibility settings, but they are not able to adjust those settings.

Full Control Mode

By default, not all blocks are provided with visibility controls. These include child blocks and blocks that may exist in WordPress, but cannot actually be added directly to the editor.

If you are looking for the visibility panel on a selected block and do not see it, or cannot find a certain block in the Block Manager, then you likely need to enable Full Control Mode. For most applications of the Block Visibility plugin, you will not need Full Control Mode, but it’s there in case you do.

There are few things about Full Control Mode (FCM) that you should be aware of:

  1. If a block receives visibility settings due to FCM being enabled, these settings will remain if FCM is ever disabled.

    For example, the Column block is a child block of the larger Columns block. Visibility controls are not provided to Column blocks by default, only Columns blocks. When you enable Full Control Mode, you will be able to control visibility on both block types.

    Now lets assume you had configured visibility on a number of Column blocks. If you where to ever disable FCM, you would no longer be able to control visibility on the Column block. However, any previously set visibility settings would still be applied on the frontend of your website assuming no other changes were made to those Column blocks.

    This functionality is not ideal and is a current limitation of the plugin. That said, it is easy to avoid any unexpected results. If you ever enable FCM, just be careful disabling it in the future and make sure there are no FCM enabled block types with active visibility settings.

  2. When you enable FCM, this will add any previously unavailable block types to the Block Manager. You will now be able to control these new block types within the manager.

Uninstall

When you enable this setting, the Block Visibility plugin settings will be removed when the plugin is uninstalled. Under the hood, the block_visibility_settings option will be removed from your website database. If you ever reinstall Block Visibility, the default plugin settings will be applied.

Note that this setting does not remove the visibility settings from individual blocks. These settings, or “attributes”, will no longer do anything since Block Visibility has been uninstalled, but will remain on each block until save-triggering changes are made.

Need Help?

Submit a support ticket on WordPress.org.